Not sure how to feel about this

One of my best friends is dating someone who met her soon right after his long term (10 years!) relationship ended.

Me and my friends share a lot with each other, and one of the things her boyfriend told her that she shared with me was how he was looking forward to do things right with her. Because he’s been in a relationship before where he almost got married. Clearly, that didn’t work out. So now that he’s had the time to reflect on how to be a better partner, he wants to give her this better version of himself.

And it kind of made me look at their happy relationship and wonder if that’s exactly what happened with this person I used to love with whoever he is with now. Maybe they’ll be happier than we ever could have been. If that’s the case, then my decision to leave is a good one.

I don’t really wish him ill. I used to. But not anymore. It’s been years since I wished him hair loss and flat tires lol. This train of thought was just one of those things that suddenly popped in my head when she was telling me how nice it’s been.

I guess one day if I meet someone I can trust enough to commit to – who I’d be in that relationship would be vastly different with who I used to be in all my previous ones. I believe in people’s capacity to change. I hope that if ever the time comes for me to fall in love romantically again, I’ve changed for the better. 🙂

I’ve been single for 4.25 years. I can’t even remember the last time I’ve held hands with anyone, and if I did, it all happened before the pandemic hit HAHAHA. If I’m being honest, I could see a future with my growing number of cats. I just adopted Kuro, and he adapted pretty quickly with Jiyo. I’ll hold off on getting a third one anytime soon. But all my future plans has revolved around this picture of growing old in a house with a massive cat room. It’s weird that crazy cat lady used to be something everyone aspired not to be. And now, I’m only ever looking at properties that would be good for my current and future cats.

Life is weird. Nice, but weird.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.